It’s Just a Sing-A-Long Song

I like to sing. Out loud. In the vicinity of people, even if they beg me to stop. I often get many songs stuck in my head, often in a row, and I’ve found that to try to get rid of these “earworms” or at least in an attempt to tolerate them, singing is a great way to release the energy, and it especially helps during those long days at work. So, I present to you, all the songs that got stuck in my head today.

:O In the form of a GrooveShark playlist!

Also, in list form.

Biz Markie – Just A Friend

Ahh, some old school hip hop, a great song for all the homies gettin’ schooled by them trick-ass hoes. Granted, I only know the chorus, but it’s a good enough chorus to make up for not knowing the rest of the song. Best part, you don’t have to be a good singer to sing along. Also, yo momma jokes at the beginning of the music video? Classic.

Also, black Beethoven.

Chris Brown – Look At Me Now

LOVE THIS SONG. Going off to it in the clubs, all day, er’ryday. LEGGO. Not going to lie… I can sing along to most of this song. Except for Busta Rhymes’ lyrics, which I think goes something like, “Black black blackity black black I’m black.” Hrhuhruhr, I’m racist. But really, I think the guy takes one big breath throughout his entire diatribe.

The video is so swag, with some great dance moves.

  • “Yellow top missin’.” Actually, that whole beginning. @ 0:36-0:44
  • “Wax it all off.” @ 0:56
  • Cool slidey thing @ 2:17
  • And this guy @ 3:47
  • Lil Wayne’s entire part is amazing.

And I’m fresher than a mawfukka.

Cake – No Phone

Just one of those songs that are so easy to sing along to. I’ll usually think of songs, reacting to situations that I encounter in everyday life. Yeah, the phone was missing at work today. So I sang this for about a half hour, because it’s one of those songs that pretty much stay once they’re in your head.

I love Cake.

And I love cake.

Bruno Mars – The Lazy Song

First off, I wanna say, what the fuck is up with this video? It’s so fucking weird. But I enjoyed it.

I never really liked Bruno Mars, and really disliked this song when I first heard it, but the first lines are just so damn relatable. Damn you Bruno for feeling what everyone else feels in the morning and then writing a song about it! So, I sing it.

I didn’t really pay attention to the guy until the song Grenade came out, and I really liked it, but that’s where our affair ended. Until I heard his album in its entirety (the yellow one with the roady thingy). Each song is alright by itself, but the album is beautifully put together.

The only part I don’t like about the song is when he sings something about good sex. I don’t like hearing about sex in my music, it makes me feel really uncomfortable. Nor do I like watching those male gyrations. I know, it makes me sound like a major prude, but I just get the heeby jeebies when it’s so blatant. Madonna’s Human Nature video makes be feel really uncomfortable as well.

Spice Girls – Wannabe

Comments about this video:

  • Holy crap, nipples.
  • Did Baby Spice steal that hobo’s hat in the beginning of the video?
  • What the hell pants is Scary Spice wearing?
  • Today I learned the Spice Girls are terrorists.
  • Holy crap, nipples.

And you’re lying if you say you don’t know the words to at least the chorus of this song. Sing it anywhere and people will smile knowingly, their inner Spice Girl wanting to burst out and sing along with you.

Sting – I’m So Happy I Can’t Stop Crying

This is one of those songs that made me cry the first time I heard it. Kind of country, very sad.

As a side note, the video is pure acid trip at the county fair.

Marcy Playground – Sex and Candy

Don’t watch if you hate spiders.

Brad Sucks – You’re Not Going Anywhere

I don’t even really know this song, but for some reason, I wrote it on my list, so I actually must have known the lyrics at one point. I like it though. Maybe I was just humming the melody.

There is no video for this song. I first found Brad Sucks somewhere in the depths of the internet, but I love his style of music and kind of bemoaning angst, kind of realistic-y pessimistic-y look at how much things suck. That is not a bad thing.

I really really like:

Maybe it was one of those songs that I was thinking about.

Leave a Reply

